5-Year Plan

stock-photo-crystal-ball-that-is-empty-o-125182Currently I am not an instructor – I manage instructors for online programs at a private college.

I don’t have aspirations to work as an instructor again. I have wanted, for a long time, to move into management, so my current job feels like a perfect fit for me. It lets me use my technological knowledge, communication skills, time management and organizational skills, and I love the managing of logistics – I feel it’s one of my greatest strengths.

In 5 years I would like to still be in management. Not necessarily at my current workplace, but it’s possible that I could still be there. I am not one who typically stays in a job for much longer than a couple of years. However, I am loving my job and my colleagues and workplace so much, I could see myself staying for a longer period of time.

I would like to go back to school and have long considered getting an MA, but I’m not exactly sure what kind of degree would make sense – I have always toyed with the idea of doing an MBA, which seems more logical for this role than doing something in instructional design or education specific.

I would also like to make more money – realistically, this is a motivator for me. I took a relatively significant pay cut to take my current job, and while I love it and am finding it very fulfilling and engaging and rewarding in a way I have never experienced before, I would also like to be better compensated for the work I do. I feel I bring a lot to the table and have vastly improved the instructor support. And I work a LOT more than 40 hours a week, but I know that is the unspoken expectation of most middle management… For now, the trade-off is worth it, but I think I could easily take this experience in a couple of years and use it as a stepping stone into an equally challenging and interesting position that compensates me a bit more 🙂

Leave a Reply

